Farewell to my 40’s, I hardly knew ye.

I haven’t spent this much time trying to type a sentence since those No-Doz enhanced, all nighters’ back in college. There, I finally did it. My first sentence of my first blog. Exhausting. How do you bloggers do it?  I was brave when I was young, bold with my opinions and writing saucy poems in college , reading them aloud in class..where did she go I wondered?  Married nearly 24 years ago, a nursing career and two teenagers later, I stopped feeding my emotional growth while worrying about everyone else’s.  Somewhere in there, I lost a decade.  Somewhere in there I became “M’am, do you need help with your groceries” (No) and “How old are you…IF YOU DON’T MIND ME ASKING?”  ( they lower their voice when they say it, dirty words..ssssh.  But, my brain hears it  real, real loud)  Somewhere in there, while I was potty training and tending to the sick, my 40’s ran over me and I am suddenly strange to this not young/ not old world.  A world where apparently, if I am able to muster the courage to speak my age ,I should probably whisper it, lest I offend.  Pity the fool who asks THE QUESTION though,as the big mouth in me still lives on,   and I respond with gusto with “why would I mind?  Is my age something to be ashamed of? Should I be concerned that I don’t look 25 or 35 or 45 anymore? It goes on from there..a mini lecture about embracing the years, and appreciating all of them ensues, leaving the questioner quiet and slightly confused about how we got started anyway on this mess.  So for now, I will attempt this blog thing , someone may care about my experiences and perspectives , if not, there’s still something energizing about it..I haven’t been this awake at 2am in years!

21 thoughts on “Farewell to my 40’s, I hardly knew ye.

  1. I figure I have become a gray ghost only wandering a mall …for exercise. A longtime TJ Maxx enthusiast I now am being sought in that store on Mondays (10% discount for seniors you know) by a couple of white haired smiling and very friendly gents who wander the aisles alone now, as they told me their wives have passed away. They keep appearing around every corner of that store! My husband is shopping at the Dollar Store, I have a husband!!! This aging thing is peculiar, and why didn’t my grandmothers warn me about all of this? I sure understand hardly knowing my 40’s, remember those years whizzing by and the 50’s being a bit more fun. I’m 65 going on “what next”!!!!???

  2. Thank you all for your encouragement! Still very intimidated by the logistics of setting up the blog..ashamed of my lack of computer skills..anyway, time to check out your blogs now!

    • Blogging is like learning how to ride a bike, once you learn there’s no going back. Join writer’s groups, ask questions and follow Darren Rowse, pro-blogger for all you need to know about blogging and how to do it. I remember when I first started and didn’t have a clue and now I have multiple blogs and a website for my writing and editing business. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Tess, I can’t wait to hear more. Jon Katz is indeed an inspiration to so many of us. Love his books! (Feel like I know him through his blog and book.) Thank you for making yourself vulnerable to us who can relate to your inner being, but aren’t articulate enough to put it into words. Blessings to you!

  4. Welcome to the world of blogging, Tess (always one of my favorite names!). Your voice is already singing out beautifully, and I have a feeling we will be so happy to “know” you!
    Marcia

  5. Tess, please don’t recover!! Big mouths rule!! 🙂 I have found one of the wonderful things about getting older is that you don’t care so much what other people think and you say what you mean…and more importantly, laughing loudly, getting big hugs and just being myself is a blessing!!

  6. Thanks for your courage. I think maybe I could too, overcoming our fear of rejection or embarrassment or bad spelling (go spell ck). I’ll look forward to your blog.

  7. Welcome to blogging!

    A friend of mine posted on FB the other day, in an objectionary tone, that she’d “been ma’amed!!” at the grocery store. I found it quite funny that she was so offended. MY GOSH! The world is ending – you’ve been ma’amed! Might as well take to the bed ’til you kick the bucket. Your useful time is over. You’ve gone crone!

    She is only 2 years older than I am and I’ve been ma’amed plenty. But it doesn’t bother me so much – I’ve earned my age and I wouldn’t take my 20’s back to do again – EVER. When asked, I have never whispered my age to anyone. I’ve stated it clear as day.The other day I looked at the gray coming into my husband’s beard and thought about how that didn’t used to be there, but wow! how awesome that I’ve known him long enough to get to watch him go gray. Some people haven’t had the honor of knowing him as more than blonde – they didn’t stick around that long.

    As for ma’am – I like hearing it because it means there are still mannered people in the world. I wish more people used the term. I wish more people remembered manners and that people offended by such things had better hobbies.

  8. Congrats on your first post nice job!! I’ve been blogging for three months, and don’t know what I am doing half the time, but having lots of fun. I’ve also met a lot of nice bloggers out there. You will too!

  9. Bravo Tess!
    I suspect you’ll find the more you ‘speak your mind’ here the more you’ll discover you have to say….
    Write for yourself, for your heart and from your heart as you have in this first post ~ the world will care or not ~
    I sense you’ve arrived at that point in the journey where you’ve looked back over your shoulder and experienced
    (as it was at least for me) the ‘if not now, then when?!’ moment. So please DO continue writing. Write for all the reasons
    you’ll discover as you go, but most importantly, write for yourself….
    I, without doubt, will be back to read more of what you have to say 🙂
    Warm regards
    Issy

Leave a Reply

